The case of the missing underwear

24 Apr

I live alone in a one bedroom apartment with a laundry room in the building’s hallway. My boyfriend has two roommates and his washing machine is right in his apartment. I have to stake a claim and pay quarters when its laundry day; he just throws his in and lets the machine do its thing. I still rarely do laundry at his place because I don’t want to impose on his roommates and its just easier to do it at my own.

However, one night I stayed over his place unexpectedly. I threw in my underwear with his laundry so that I would have a clean pair for work the next day. We went to bed and in the morning he grabbed the clothes out of the dryer. Well, he grabbed all the clothes except for my one pair of underwear that I knew had been put in the machine. Baffled, I searched all over the place and could not find them. I finally gave up and marked it up to the laundry monster.

A few days later I was back at his apartment and in the kitchen with his roommate’s girlfriend. I took her aside and asked her if she had happened to have found a pair of underwear.

“Thank god!” she said. “They were in our laundry and I had no idea where they came from.”

Apparently, they had switched over the laundry in the middle of the night and somehow my underwear had gotten mixed into their pile. Relieved she was the one to have found them and not her boyfriend or the other roommate, I stuffed them in my pocket and vowed to keep better track of my things. I tried not to think of the problems this laundry fiasco might have caused.

Moral of the story: Do your laundry at your own place.

My boyfriend’s thoughts on this scenario: If I ever find a pair of underwear in his room that are not mine, I shouldn’t jump to conclusions. Good luck with that one.

Today was Day Twenty One (or Day U) of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge

Hoping you’ll follow me on Bloglovin or Twitter! New friends make me happy! I also recently created a profile with Canopi, so you can check me out there if that’s what you use!

Kate sig

62 Responses to “The case of the missing underwear”

  1. Janine Huldie April 24, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    That could have been ugly, especially if his girlfriend thought they were another girl or that he was cheating. Glad it all ended well and great moral indeed!! 🙂

  2. Ellie April 24, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    Oh wow, it’s a good thing you asked her – that could have been a disaster for their relationship!

  3. Dana April 24, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Your boyfriend’s response: typical man! I long for the days when I only had to wash my own underwear…

  4. nothingbythebook April 24, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Chill chick, your boyfriend’s roommate’s girlfriend. I like her.

  5. helen jameson April 24, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    Whoa! Could have been bad! I had a black Labrador retriever once whose greatest joy was burying all the underwear in the backyard. I was constantly buying new drawers! It’s been years since I lived at that house. I wonder if the current owners found the burial ground.

    • Another Clean Slate April 24, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Haha that definitely would have wondered what went on in the house before they moved in!

  6. megan April 24, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    I can just see how this could have turned into an even bigger fiasco! I am so glad I have my own washer and dyer now. I used to haul all my stuff to a friends house to do laundry. not fun!

  7. Sugar & Spice & All Things ? Nice April 24, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    haha that was funny. A lesson has been learned by all…..don’t jump to conclusions!! Good thought for the day!

  8. The Dose of Reality (@TheDoseTweets) April 24, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    BWAH HA HA HA!! Love his moral of the story! Impressed that the roommate’s girlfriend did not totally freak out, because I would have!-Ashley

    • Another Clean Slate April 24, 2013 at 10:44 am #

      She said nothing at all to ANYONE- which I don’t understand one bit…

  9. Becca April 24, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    Hilarious story! 🙂 If I found underwear that wasn’t mine I’d be sure to jump to conclusions. Did his roommate’s girlfriend scream at him? Haha.

    • Another Clean Slate April 24, 2013 at 10:55 am #

      No- it is so weird. She didn’t say ANYTHING until I brought it up. Denial?

  10. Ghadeer April 24, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    I thought this was going to end embarrassingly..

  11. dishofdailylife April 24, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Laundry mishap! I can’t believe she didn’t say anything sooner!

  12. pnkheelspnktrk April 24, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    This is funny…but I am glad she found them!

  13. Kerri April 24, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    Ha! All I was thinking was the roommate’s girlfriend had given him a hit on the head and he had to get inventive with make-up gifts!

  14. another jennifer April 24, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    Ha! Good thing you asked!

  15. Rowena April 24, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    Ha ha I bet she thought he was cheating on her! Great story.

  16. Julie DeNeen April 24, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    Riiiiiggghhht. Don’t jump to conclusions….boys. Psht!

  17. JccKeith April 24, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Haha – I had that happen once, missing panties from the laundry, only it was at my apartment complex and it turned out the maintenance guy was stealing panties out of the laundry room from not just me but others as well.

  18. lisanewlin April 24, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

    That could hav been really ugly if someone else found them. I also love that you just put them in your pocket…like a paperclip or a piece of gum/

    I am a little concerned about what you did for work the next day, as by my calculations, you wouldn’t have underwear.

    This is why I think it’s best to just go commando. So many problems are avoided that way.

    • Another Clean Slate April 24, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      Haha I could lie and say I wore his boxer briefs the next day!

      • lisanewlin April 24, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

        I think we both know what you really did. FOR SHAME!

  19. The Next Step April 24, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    So what you are saying is, you went commando to work that day?

  20. Jean Heff April 24, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    Oh, quarters. I don’t miss that at all. The last apartment we lived in, I got stuck in the laundry room for over an hour because the door broke somehow. We started looking for a house about a month after that. 🙂

    • Another Clean Slate April 24, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      Are you sure you didn’t break the door yourself to move things along?

  21. Sunni Morris April 24, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    What a crazy story!

    Sunni

    http://sunni-survivinglife.blogspot.com/

  22. JulieYouJest April 24, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    Your boyfriend’s response is hilarious and not at all realistic!

    • Another Clean Slate April 24, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      He knew it is a hopeless cause- especially as I know it was a fluke this time that it was mine but may not have been on other scenarios.

  23. ornerydame April 24, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    I am impressed that the other guy’s girlfriend took finding them so well. I am not sure that I would have been able to keep quiet! Glad you found them and things did not get ugly!

    • Another Clean Slate April 24, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      I know. They have a pretty “interesting” relationship so I am glad these ones at least were mine!

  24. Julia of A Dose of Jules April 24, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    This is a great story…. lesson learned. Glad you found them! lol

  25. The Sadder But Wiser Girl April 25, 2013 at 1:40 am #

    We have rogue underwear at our house all the time. My son comes bringing his sister her underwear that wound up in his basket, my daughter keeps bringing me mine, the only one who seems to be free of the underwear mixing up is dad. His underwear must have some sort of special protocol they have to follow…

  26. Oh my!! I am so glad that turned out okay. Some of the best lessons in life are the ones that come from crazy situations, like lost underwear. Good times.

    • Another Clean Slate April 26, 2013 at 11:48 am #

      Yes, the crazy situations are the ones we remember the best for sure!

  27. MommiFried (@mommifried) April 26, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    My gawd I would have asked immediately and jumped to all kinds of conclusions! LOL

  28. writermomangela April 26, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m with you, conclusions would be jumped to! LOL

  29. happymomsusan April 26, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    That was a great story. I have to admit I jumped to some very different conclusions partway through…

  30. Melissa @ Home on Deranged April 27, 2013 at 12:21 am #

    I always hated communal laundry space. But then again, doing laundry in our own home doesn’t guarantee anything, since the 2 year old likes to wrap her dad’s boxers and/or my underwear around her head and just walk around the house. Like it’s a fashion statement. 🙂

    • Another Clean Slate April 27, 2013 at 8:01 am #

      That might just be trendy by the time your two year old is a teenager!

  31. xaenafew April 28, 2013 at 2:07 am #

    Hahah…that girl sure trusts her boyfriend…only wondered where they came from, not suspicious at all 🙂

  32. xaenafew April 28, 2013 at 2:08 am #

    Hahah…that girl sure trusts her boyfriend…only wondered where they came from, not suspucious at all. Or furious!

  33. Kate April 29, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    Fab story – but so right when you say that the consequences could have been dire!

    Kate x
    Kate at Home

I love hearing what you have to say! Give it to me...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 702 other subscribers

Deals for my readers

I did good!